Kaal Bhairav

ॐ गं गणपतये नमः

Ashta Bhairav: The eight manifestations of Kaal Bhairav

Kaal Bhairav

ॐ गं गणपतये नमः

Ashta Bhairav: The eight manifestations of Kaal Bhairav

Ashta Bhairav are eight manifestations of Kaal Bhairav. They are the guardians and controller of eight directions. Each Bhairav has eight sub Bhairavs under him. So there are 64 Bhairavs in total. All of the Bhairavs are ruled and controlled by Maha Swarna Kala Bhairava, who is considered the supreme ruler of time of the universe and the chief form of Bhairava.

The 8 Bhairavs:

Kaal Bhairav
Kaal Bhairav

1. Sri Asithaanga Bhairav

Sri Asithaanga Bhairavar
Sri Asithaanga Bhairav

Consort: Bhrami
Vahana: Swan
Direction: East
Worship Benefits: Gives creative ability.

2. Sri Unmatha Bhairav

Sri Unmatha Bhairavar
Sri Unmatha Bhairav

Consort: Vaarahi
Vahana: Horse
Direction: West
Worship Benefits: Controls negative ego and harmful self talk.

3. Sri Bheeshana Bhairav

Sri Bheeshana Bhairavar
Sri Bheeshana Bhairav

Consort: Chamundi
Vahana: Lion
Direction: North
Worship Benefits: Obliterates evil spirits and negativity.

4. Sri Chanda Bhairav

Sri Chanda Bhairavar
Sri Chanda Bhairav

Consort: Koumaari
Vahana: Peacock
Direction: South
Worship Benefits: Gives incredible energy, cuts competition and rivals.

5. Sri Ruru Bhairav

Sri Ruru Bhairavar
Sri Ruru Bhairav

Consort: Maaheshwari
Vahana: Ox (Rishabam)
Direction: South-East
Worship Benefits: Divine educator.

6. Sri Krodha Bhairav

Sri Krodha Bhairavar
Sri Krodha Bhairav

Consort: Vaishnavi
Vahana: Eagle (Garuda)
Direction: South-West
Worship Benefits:  Gives you the power to take massive action.

7. Sri Samhaara Bhairav

Sri Samhaara Bhairavar
Sri Samhaara Bhairav

Consort: Chandi
Vahana: Dog
Direction: North-East
Worship Benefits: Complete dissolution of old negative karmas.

8. Sri Kapaala Bhairav

Sri Kapaala Bhairavar
Sri Kapaala Bhairav

Consort: Indrani
Vahana: Elephant
Direction: North-West
Worship Benefits: Ends all unrewarding work and action.

Each of the Bhairava’s manifestations represent, Akash, air, fire, water and earth and the other three being sun, moon and atma. Each of the Bhairavs are different in appearance, have different weapons, different vahanas. They also represent the Ashta Lakshmis.

Disclaimer: All images, designs or videos in this page are copyright of their respective owners. We don’t own have these images/designs/videos. We collect them from search engine and other sources to be used as ideas for you. No copyright infringement is intended. If you have reason to believe that one of our content is violating your copyrights, please do not take any legal action as we are trying to spread the knowledge. You can contact us directly to be credited or have the item removed from the site.

Image Credits : kagapujandar.com

3.3 3 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

ॐ गं गणपतये नमः

Explore More On HinduFAQs