ॐ गं गणपतये नमः

Ashta Lakshmi: The eight manifestations of Goddess Lakshmi


ॐ गं गणपतये नमः

Ashta Lakshmi: The eight manifestations of Goddess Lakshmi

Hinduism Symbols- Tilak (Tikka)- A symbolic mark worn on the forehead by followers of Hinduism - HD Wallpaper - Hindufaqs

Ashta Lakshmi (अष्टलक्ष्मी) are manifestations of Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth. It is said that these manifestations preside over eight sources of wealth which are prosperity, good health, knowledge, strength, progeny, and power.

The Eight Lakshmi or Ashta Lakshmi are:

1. Adi-Lakshmi or Maha Lakshmi (The Great Goddess)

Adi-Lakshmi or Maha Lakshmi

Adi-Lakshmi also known as Maha-Lakshmi or “The Great Lakshmi is a first form of Goddess Lakshmi. She is daughter of sage Bhrigu and wife of Lord Vishnu or Narayana. Aadi-Lakshmi is often depicted as the consort of Narayana living with him at his home in Vaikuntha.
2. Dhana-Lakshmi or Aishwarya Lakshmi (The Goddess of Prosperity and Wealth)


Dhana means wealth in the form of money or gold. It also represents inner strength, will power, talent, virtues and character. Dhana-Lakshmi represents intangible aspect of the human world. She is said to bless the followers with abundance of wealth and prosperity.

Also Check: Ashta Bhairav: The eight manifestations of Kaal Bhairav

3. Dhanya-Lakshmi (Goddess of Food grains)


The third forms of Goddess Lakshmi in Ashta-Lakshmi Dhanya Lakshmi. Dhanya is food grains – full of natural nutrients and minerals required for a healthy body and mind.
She is the giver of agricultural wealth and all-important nourishment for human beings.

4. Gaja-Lakshmi (The Elephant Goddess)

Gaja Lakshmi

The fourth forms of Goddess Lakshmi is Gaja-Lakshmi or “Elephant Lakshmi”. She was born out of Samudra Manthan. She is the daughter of the ocean. Myths have it that Gaja-Lakshmi helped Lord Indra regain his lost wealth from the depth of the ocean.
This form of Goddess Lakshmi is the bestower and protector of wealth, prosperity, grace, abundance and royalty.

5. Santana-Lakshmi (The Goddess of Progeny)

Santana Lakshmi

The fifth forms of Goddess Lakshmi is  Santana Lakshmi. She is the Goddess of progeny, the treasure of the family life. Worshipers of Santana Lakshmi are bestowed with the wealth of good children possessing with good health and a long life.

6. Veera-Lakshmi or Dhairya Lakshmi (The Goddess of Valor and Courage)

Veera Lakshmi

The sixth forms of Goddess Lakshmi is  Veera Lakshmi. As the names suggests (Veera = valor or courage). This form of Goddess Lakshmi symbolize of courage and strength, and power.
Veera-Lakshmi is worshiped to gain valor and strength and to overcome the difficulties of life, and lead a life of stability.

7. Vidya-Lakshmi (The Goddess of Knowledge)

Vidya Lakshmi

The Seventh forms of Goddess Lakshmi is Vidya Lakshmi. Vidya means knowledge as well as education.
This form of Goddess Lakshmi is the giver of knowledge of the arts and sciences.

8. Vijaya-Lakshmi or Jaya Lakshmi (The Goddess of Victory)

Vijaya Lakshmi

The Eighth forms of Goddess Lakshmi is Vijaya Lakshmi. Vijaya means victory. So, this form of Goddess Lakshmi symbolizes victory in all aspects of life. Vijaya-Lakshmi is worshiped to ensure all-round victory in every aspect of life.

Disclaimer: All images, designs or videos in this page are copyright of their respective owners. We don’t own have these images/designs/videos. We collect them from search engine and other sources to be used as ideas for you. No copyright infringement is intended. If you have reason to believe that one of our content is violating your copyrights, please do not take any legal action as we are trying to spread the knowledge. You can contact us directly to be credited or have the item removed from the site.

2 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

ॐ गं गणपतये नमः

Explore More On HinduFAQs