Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages

Popular Article

Rudraksha types | The Hindu FAQs

Rudraksha, also rudraksh, (“Rudra’s eyes”), is a seed is traditionally used for prayer beads in hinduism . The seed is produced by several species of large evergreen broad-leaved tree in the genus Elaeocarpus, with Elaeocarpus ganitrus being the principal species used in the making of organic jewellery or mala.

Rudraksha, being organic, is preferentially worn without contact with metal; thus on a cord or thong rather than a chain.
Rudraksha types | The Hindu FAQs Mukha:
Naturally grown grooves, starting from the natural vertically or horizontally stalk* point reaching the opposite point, are termed as Mukhi/Face.
Some say there are 21 different types of rudraksha, “21 mukhi or 21 face” some say there are 14.
We are presentiny ten types of rudraksha in this article.

Ek Mukhi (One Face)
It is known to bring luxury, power, wealth, and enlightenment.

Ek Mukhi Rudraksha - One Face
Ek Mukhi Rudraksha – One Face

Dwi Mukhi (Two Face)
It helps in building healthy relationships. It is believed to control all negativities.

Dw iMukhi Rudraksha - Two Face
Dw iMukhi Rudraksha – Two Face

Tri Mukhi (Three Face)
It aids in boosting the confidence of the wearer, thus enabling him to cope with tough situations.

Tri Mukhi Rudraksha - Three Face
Tri Mukhi Rudraksha – Three Face

Chatur Mukhi (Four Face)
It helps a great deal in developing the power of speech. It is very beneficial for treating the problem of stammering.

Chatur Mukhi Rudraksha - Four Face
Chatur Mukhi Rudraksha – Four Face

Pancha Mukhi (Five Face)
It raises the concentration level and power of gaining knowledge.

Panch Mukhi Rudraksha
Panch Mukhi Rudraksha

Shan Mukhi (Six Face)
It is known to bring wealth, power, name and fame. It helps the wearer in achieving eternal bliss.

Shan Mukhi Rudraksha
Shan Mukhi Rudraksha

Sapta Mukhi (Seven Face)
It helps a person achieve what he desires. It enables a person to prosper academically.

Sapta Mukhi Rudraksha
Sapta Mukhi Rudraksha

Ashta Mukhi (Eight Face)
It brings wealth and luxury. It helps to ward off evil spirits and get rid of various forms of diseases.

Astha Mukhi Rudraksha
Astha Mukhi Rudraksha

Nava Mukhi (Nine Face)
It is said to be associated with confidence, good character, happiness and sound health.

Nava Mukhi Rudraksha
Nava Mukhi Rudraksha

Dasha Mukhi (Ten Face)
It enables a person to earn loads of wealth. It is said to be associated with vigor and vitality.

Dasha Mukhi Rudraksha
Dasha Mukhi Rudraksha

For someone who is constantly on the move and who eats and sleeps in various places, rudraksha is believed to be a very good support because it creates a cocoon of your own energy. It is said that if the situation around one is not conducive to one’s kind of energy, it will not let one settle down. For sadhus and sanyasis, places and situations could trouble them because they were constantly moving. One of the rules for them was never to put their head down in the same place twice. Today, once again, people have started eating and sleeping in different places because of their business or profession, so a rudraksha can be helpful.
Rudraksha | The Hindu FAQs
Sadhus or sanyasis living in the forest would have to resort to naturally available water sources. It was believed that if a rudraksha is held above the water, if the water is good and drinkable, it would go clockwise. If it was unfit for consumption, it would go anti-clockwise. This test was also believed to be valid for other edibles.
When worn on a mala, it was also believed to ward off “negative energies”.

Photo Credits to the owner of the photo and the photographers.
These photos are not owned by us in any way. Shiva- Most Badass Hindu Gods Part II

Shiva One of the most Badass Hindu GOD, also referred to by names like Rudra, Mahadev, Trayambak, Natraja, Shankar, Mahesh, etc. is considered the personification of the Masculine element of the universe. In the holy trinity of Hinduism, he is considered the ‘destroyer’ of cosmos.
Origin of Shiv shown in a graphic novel

Such is the scale of his wrath, that he had cut off, one of the heads of Brahma, who is a major god and also happens to be part of the trinity. Hindu mythology is loaded with his exploits.

The nature and character of Shiva is marked with simplicity, yet there are unpredictable, contradictory and complex philosophical traits in his personality. He is considered the greatest dancer and musician, yet he prefers to stay away from the pomp of the heavens. Shiva is a hermit, lives a secluded life and enjoys the company of heinous and outcast creatures like Pisachas (vampires) and Preta (Ghost). He dresses himself with tiger hide and sprays human ash all over himself. Shiva loves intoxication (opium, cannabis, and hash are openly offered to him in hindu temples to this day!)however, he is known for being kindhearted, selfless and a maintainer of cosmic balance.  Not only did he slay demons and egotist demi-gods, he has beaten the hell out of all major Heroes of Indian Mythology like Arjuna, Indra, Mitra etc. at some point to destroy their ego.

In contemporary Hindu religion, Shiva is one of the most revered gods. But he is also the most feared.

There are many versions of this story. However in all of them, there are certain common observations. Brahma was a conformist, brahmanical god. A critical study of his character would reveal his prejudice and unfair bias towards Rakshas, Gandharva, Vasu, non-human races and lower forms of creation. Brahma is not immortal. He sprang out of Vishnu’s navel and was entrusted the responsibility of creating mankind. Shiva on the other hand is something different and beyond Brahma. As the omnipresent present manforce of the cosmos, Shiva adored all forms of creation without any bias and prejudice. There are no sacrifices allowed in Shiva temples. Even breaking coconuts (which is symbolic of human sacrifice) is forbidden, despite sacrifice being an essential element of Vedic/brahmanical culture.
Shiva's Rudra avtar shown in a TV serial

Shiva’s boons to rakshasas were the root cause of all major disturbances and invasion on paradise (Swarga). Brahma’s four heads were representative of four dimensions of his thinking. One of it looked down upon of Shiva, and was purist and Devkula (Aryan stock convieniently!) supremacist. Brahma had some grudge against Shiva, for he had slayed one of Brahma’s biological sons Daksha (who also happened to be Shiva’s father in law!!).
Still in his Shankara (cool) form, Shiva had requested Brahma on various occasions to be more kind and inclusive, but that was all in vain. Finally succumbing to his anger, Shiva assumed the dreaded form of Bhairava and chopped off the Brahma’s fourth head that represented his egoist side.

Shiva is representative of the egalitarian and all-inclusive spirit of Hinduism. He was on the verge of supporting Ravana against Ram, if not for Ravana’s towering ego. Though the list of his victims includes the who’s who of Indian mythology (He didn’t spare even his own son Ganesh!), Shiva is considered the easiest god to be pleased.

shankar Idol in Uttarakhand

Some More Info

Symbols of Shiva

1. Trishul : knowledge, desire and implementation

2. Ganga : flow of wisdom and spiritual teachings

3. Moon : Shiv is Trikal-Darshi, master of time

4. Drum : words of vedas

5. Third Eye : destroyer  of evil, when it opens it destroy anything that comes in vision

6. Serpent : ego as ornament

7. Rudraksh :  creation

Bhasm on body and rudraksh never dies like flowers and does not have any distraction (smell)

8. Tiger skin : no fear

9. Fire : destruction

Credits: Post credits Ashutosh Pandey
Image credits to the original post.