Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages

Popular Article

Rudraksha types | The Hindu FAQs

Rudraksha, also rudraksh, (“Rudra’s eyes”), is a seed is traditionally used for prayer beads in hinduism . The seed is produced by several species of large evergreen broad-leaved tree in the genus Elaeocarpus, with Elaeocarpus ganitrus being the principal species used in the making of organic jewellery or mala.

Rudraksha, being organic, is preferentially worn without contact with metal; thus on a cord or thong rather than a chain.
Rudraksha types | The Hindu FAQs Mukha:
Naturally grown grooves, starting from the natural vertically or horizontally stalk* point reaching the opposite point, are termed as Mukhi/Face.
Some say there are 21 different types of rudraksha, “21 mukhi or 21 face” some say there are 14.
We are presentiny ten types of rudraksha in this article.

Ek Mukhi (One Face)
It is known to bring luxury, power, wealth, and enlightenment.

Ek Mukhi Rudraksha - One Face
Ek Mukhi Rudraksha – One Face

Dwi Mukhi (Two Face)
It helps in building healthy relationships. It is believed to control all negativities.

Dw iMukhi Rudraksha - Two Face
Dw iMukhi Rudraksha – Two Face

Tri Mukhi (Three Face)
It aids in boosting the confidence of the wearer, thus enabling him to cope with tough situations.

Tri Mukhi Rudraksha - Three Face
Tri Mukhi Rudraksha – Three Face

Chatur Mukhi (Four Face)
It helps a great deal in developing the power of speech. It is very beneficial for treating the problem of stammering.

Chatur Mukhi Rudraksha - Four Face
Chatur Mukhi Rudraksha – Four Face

Pancha Mukhi (Five Face)
It raises the concentration level and power of gaining knowledge.

Panch Mukhi Rudraksha
Panch Mukhi Rudraksha

Shan Mukhi (Six Face)
It is known to bring wealth, power, name and fame. It helps the wearer in achieving eternal bliss.

Shan Mukhi Rudraksha
Shan Mukhi Rudraksha

Sapta Mukhi (Seven Face)
It helps a person achieve what he desires. It enables a person to prosper academically.

Sapta Mukhi Rudraksha
Sapta Mukhi Rudraksha

Ashta Mukhi (Eight Face)
It brings wealth and luxury. It helps to ward off evil spirits and get rid of various forms of diseases.

Astha Mukhi Rudraksha
Astha Mukhi Rudraksha

Nava Mukhi (Nine Face)
It is said to be associated with confidence, good character, happiness and sound health.

Nava Mukhi Rudraksha
Nava Mukhi Rudraksha

Dasha Mukhi (Ten Face)
It enables a person to earn loads of wealth. It is said to be associated with vigor and vitality.

Dasha Mukhi Rudraksha
Dasha Mukhi Rudraksha

For someone who is constantly on the move and who eats and sleeps in various places, rudraksha is believed to be a very good support because it creates a cocoon of your own energy. It is said that if the situation around one is not conducive to one’s kind of energy, it will not let one settle down. For sadhus and sanyasis, places and situations could trouble them because they were constantly moving. One of the rules for them was never to put their head down in the same place twice. Today, once again, people have started eating and sleeping in different places because of their business or profession, so a rudraksha can be helpful.
Rudraksha | The Hindu FAQs
Sadhus or sanyasis living in the forest would have to resort to naturally available water sources. It was believed that if a rudraksha is held above the water, if the water is good and drinkable, it would go clockwise. If it was unfit for consumption, it would go anti-clockwise. This test was also believed to be valid for other edibles.
When worn on a mala, it was also believed to ward off “negative energies”.

Photo Credits to the owner of the photo and the photographers.
These photos are not owned by us in any way.

Eka Mukhi