Navgraha – the nine planets as per Hinduism

In Vedic astrology, there are 9 planets. These are known as Nav (9) and grahas (planets ). The nine bodies (navagraha) Sun (Soorya) Moon (Chandra) Mars (Mangla/Sevvai) Mercury (Budha) Jupiter (Guru) Venus (Sukra) Saturn (Shani) Upper lunar node (Rahu) Lower lunar node (Ketu) Surya Surya

Guru Shisha

Trikal sandhya the three slokas for three phases of the day

Trikal sandhya are the three shlokas which are expected to recite when you wake you wake up, before eating and before sleeping. The trikal is for 3 phases of day. These shlokas or slokas are as below. After you wake up: कराग्रे वसते लक्ष्मीः करमूले

Bhima trying to lift hanuman's tail

How did Hanuman end up on Arjuna’s chariot in Mahabharata?

The emblem of Hanuman on the flag of Arjuna is another sign of victory because Hanuman cooperated with Lord Rama in the battle between Rama and Ravana, and Lord Rama emerged victorious. Lord Krishna is Rama Himself, and wherever Lord Rama is, His eternal servitor

Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple

12 amazing facts about Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple

1) The Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple or Thiruvarangam is a Hindu temple dedicated to Ranganatha, a reclining form Shri Vishnu.   2) The temple is located in Srirangam, Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu, India . 3) Constructed in the Dravidian style of architecture, and It is one of

Trimurti - The Hindu Trinity | Hindu FAQs

Trimurti – the Trinity of Hinduism

The Trimurti is a concept in Hinduism “in which the cosmic functions of creation, maintenance, and destruction are personified by the forms of Brahma the creator, Vishnu the maintainer or preserver and Shiva the destroyer or transformer.” These three gods have been called “the Hindu

Rudraksha types | The Hindu FAQs

10 Types of Rudraksha

Rudraksha, also rudraksh, (“Rudra’s eyes”), is a seed is traditionally used for prayer beads in hinduism . The seed is produced by several species of large evergreen broad-leaved tree in the genus Elaeocarpus, with Elaeocarpus ganitrus being the principal species used in the making of

arjuna and Ulupi | The hindu FAQs

Story of Arjuna with Ulupi and Chitrangada

Story of Arjuna and Ulupi While on exile, (As he broke the rule of not entering any brother’s room (When that brothers with draupadi) by anyone, a solution suggested by Devarshi Narad) for 12 years, he decided to spent first few days on the GANGA

Shri Rama and Maa Sita

Why did Shri Ram make Maa Sita go through an AgniPariksha?

This question has bothered more and more people in ‘recent’ times, women in particular because they feel abandoning a pregnant wife makes Shri Ram a bad husband, sure they do have a valid point and hence the article. But passing such grave judgments against any

parashurama | Hindu FAQs

Dashavatara the 10 incarnations of Vishnu – Part VI : Parashurama Avatar

Parshuram a.k.a Parashurama, Parashuraman  is the sixth avatar of Vishnu. He is son of Renuka and the saptarishi Jamadagni. Parshurama is one of the seven Immortals. Lord Parashuram was the Great Grandson of Bhrugu Rishi, after whom the “Bhruguvansh” has been named. He lived during

Vamana Avatar of Vishnu | Hindu FAQs

Dashavatara the 10 incarnations of Vishnu – Part V: Vamana Avatar

Vamana (वामन) is described as the fifth avatar of Vishnu, and the first incarnation of the Second Age or Treta yuga. Vamana was born to Aditi and Kashyapa. He is the first avatar to appear with anthropomorphic features, although he does appear as a dwarf

Dashavatara the 10 incarnations of Vishnu – Part IV: Narasimha Avatar

Narasimha Avatar (नरसिंह), Narasingh, Narsingh and Narasingha, in derviative languages is an avatar of Vishnu and one of Hinduism’s most popular deities, as evidenced in early epics, iconography, and temple and festival worship for over a millennium. Narasimha is often visualised as half-man/half-lion, having a

Dashavatara the 10 incarnations of Vishnu – Kurma Avatar -

Dashavatara the 10 incarnations of Vishnu – Part II: Kurma Avatar

In Dashavatars, Kurma (कूर्म; ) was the second Avatar of Vishnu, succeeding Matsya and preceding Varaha. Like Matsya this incarnation also occurred in Satya yuga. Durvasa, The Sage, once gave a garland to Indra, the king of Gods. Indra placed the garland around his elephant,

Popular Article