Stotras of Sri Suryadeva

Stotras of Suryadeva is chanted by Hindus in the wee hours of the morning. Surya is worshipped by people, saints, and even asuras or demons. Certain groups of Rakshasas, called the Yatudhanas, were staunch followers of the Sun God. Sanskrit: ततो युद्धपरिश्रान्तं समरे चिन्तया स्थितम् । रावणं चाग्रतो दृष्ट्वा युद्धाय समुपस्थितम् ॥१॥ Translation: Tato Yuddha Parishraantam

Stotras of Devi Saraswati

Stotras of Devi Saraswati

Here are a few stotras of Aparajita Stuti of Goddess Saraswati with their translations.We’ve also added the meanings of the following stotras. Sanskrit: नमस्ते शारदे देवी काश्मीरपुरवासिनि त्वामहं प्रार्थये नित्यं विद्यादानं च देहि मे ॥ Translation: Namaste Shaarade Devii Kaashmira Puravaasini Tvaamaham Praarthaye Nityam Vidyaa Daanam Cha Dehi Me || Meaning: 1: Salutations to Devi Sharada, Who abides in the abode of Kashmira, 2: To

Four stages of life in hinduism - The Hindu FAQS

what are the 4 Stages of Life in Hinduism?

There are 4 Stages of Life in Hinduism. These are called “ashramas” and every man should ideally go through each of these stages: 1. Brahmacharya – Bachelor, student phase of life 2. Grihastha – Married life phase and duties of maintaining a Household 3. Vanaprastha

sarvesham swastir bhavatu - The Hindu FAQs

Om Sarvesham Swastir bhavatu with meaning

Om Sarvesham Swastir bhavatu – in sanskrit with meaning Sarvesham swastir bhavatu mantra is a peace shloka which generally says that may there be peace and happiness in everybody’s life. It prays for well being and auspiciousness for all. The detailed line by line explaination

Om asato maa - The Hindu FAQs

Om Asato maa Sadgamaya in sanskrit with meaning

Sanskrit ॐ असतो मा सद्गमय । तमसो मा ज्योतिर्गमय । मृत्योर्मा अमृतं गमय । ॐ शान्तिः शान्तिः शान्तिः ॥ English Translation Om asato maa Sadgamaya | Tamaso maa jyotirgamaya | Mrityor maa amrtam gamaya | Om shaanti shaanti shaanti || Meaning: 1: Om (Lord), take

Shiva idol | Maha Shivratri

Shiv Tandav Stotra

Shiv Tandav stotra with english translation and its meaning. Sanskrit: जटाटवीगलज्जलप्रवाहपावितस्थले गलेऽवलम्ब्य लम्बितां भुजङ्गतुङ्गमालिकाम् । डमड्डमड्डमड्डमन्निनादवड्डमर्वयं चकार चण्डताण्डवं तनोतु नः शिवः शिवम् ॥१॥ English Translation: Jatta tavi galaj jala pravaha pavita sthale Gale valambya lambitaam bhujanga tunga malikaam | Damadd damadd damadd daman ninaadavadd damar


Ashta Lakshmi: The eight manifestations of Goddess Lakshmi

Ashta Lakshmi (अष्टलक्ष्मी) are manifestations of Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth. It is said that these manifestations preside over eight sources of wealth which are prosperity, good health, knowledge, strength, progeny, and power. The Eight Lakshmi or Ashta Lakshmi are: 1. Adi-Lakshmi or Maha Lakshmi

Kaal Bhairav

Ashta Bhairav: The eight manifestations of Kaal Bhairav

Ashta Bhairav are eight manifestations of Kaal Bhairav. They are the guardians and controller of eight directions. Each Bhairav has eight sub Bhairavs under him. So there are 64 Bhairavs in total. All of the Bhairavs are ruled and controlled by Maha Swarna Kala Bhairava,

Yoga - Hindu FAQs

What is yoga?

What is Yoga? On the occasion of International Yoga day which is on 21 July, we are happy to share some basic faq’s about yoga and the types of yoga. The word ‘yoga’ is taken from the Sanskrit root ‘yug’ which means union. The ultimate


Navgraha – the nine planets as per Hinduism

In Vedic astrology, there are 9 planets. These are known as Nav (9) and grahas (planets ). The nine bodies (navagraha) Sun (Soorya) Moon (Chandra) Mars (Mangla/Sevvai) Mercury (Budha) Jupiter (Guru) Venus (Sukra) Saturn (Shani) Upper lunar node (Rahu) Lower lunar node (Ketu) Surya Surya

Guru Shisha

Trikal sandhya the three slokas for three phases of the day

Trikal sandhya are the three shlokas which are expected to recite when you wake you wake up, before eating and before sleeping. The trikal is for 3 phases of day. These shlokas or slokas are as below. After you wake up: कराग्रे वसते लक्ष्मीः करमूले

Sun entering the Angkor Wat in Cambodia

4 Photos of Sun entering the Angkor Wat in Cambodia

These are some photos recently taken by a photographer of sun passing through the doors of Angkor Wat in Cambodia. The photo shows how sun stands exactly between the doors at Angkor Wat temple. Sun aligning exactly at the center of middle tower. Also read

Bhima trying to lift hanuman's tail

How did Hanuman end up on Arjuna’s chariot in Mahabharata?

The emblem of Hanuman on the flag of Arjuna is another sign of victory because Hanuman cooperated with Lord Rama in the battle between Rama and Ravana, and Lord Rama emerged victorious. Lord Krishna is Rama Himself, and wherever Lord Rama is, His eternal servitor


11 Hindu sages who did remarkable work in the field of Science

Hinduism had many scholar and brilliant sages who gave much knowledge of science, Mathematics, Astronomy, cosmoogy, Medicines etc from their work. Here is the list of 11 Hindu sages who did remarkable work in the field of Science, in no perticular order. 1) Aryabhatta Aryabhata

Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple

12 amazing facts about Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple

1) The Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple or Thiruvarangam is a Hindu temple dedicated to Ranganatha, a reclining form Shri Vishnu.   2) The temple is located in Srirangam, Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu, India . 3) Constructed in the Dravidian style of architecture, and It is one of

12 common characters from Ramayana and Mahabharata

12 Commom characters from Ramayana and Mahabharata

  There are many characters who appears both in Ramayana and mahabharata. Here it the list of 12 such characters who appears in both Ramayana and Mahabharata. 1) Jambavanth: who was in Rama’s army wants to fight with Rama in Tretha yuga, fought with Krishna

Popular Article